(Bad) Reading Habits

I’ve often been criticized (that may be a bit harsh) for my reading habits.  The criticisms are not so much based on what I am reading; instead, they are generally focused on the amount.  Call it curiosity, a by-product of A.D.D., insanity (there is sometimes confusion between the latter two), or whatever; but I tend to read multiple books at once.  By “multiple” I mean at minimum 5 books and it’s been as high as 23.

There are times when it’s difficult to keep track of what is being read–I won’t deny that.  But there have also been times when I’ve encountered a lot of connectivity (if not continuity) in what I read, which is certainly a worthy treasure to find.  The obvious downside with this type of reading is the speed at which it occurs.  Depending on the mix of books (i.e., the depth of content), the process can be quite arduous.  

So, what’s inundating my feeble little brain right now?  Here you go:

  • A Brief History of Time (Stephen Hawking)
  • Epistle to the Philippians (Karl Barth)
  • Abraham (Bruce Feiler)
  • Christian Wisdom (David Ford)
  • Rediscovering Paul (David Capes, et al)
  • The Grim Grotto (Lemony Snicket)
  • Ideas and Opinions (Albert Einstein)
  • On Bullsh** (Harry Frankfurt)
  • In the Shadow of the Galilean (Gerd Theissen)

From time to time, and I’ll certainly try to maintain this practice, I will give reviews of what I’m reading.  Some of these reviews might be of some interest to you; others may bore you to tears. It would be nearly worthless for me to offer a rating system so that you can pick and choose which ones to read.  The reason being: what interests me may be a snooze-fest to someone else.  What I will do is give the title of the book, and if it strikes your fancy, then check out the review.  If you have already read a book in review, please feel free to offer your own critique.  I am always interested in learning from others.  

2 comments

  1. I also read multiple books at a time. I naturally read super fast and so most books don’t take me as long as they might others. I generally have four or five books I’m reading at any given time. That number increases dramatically as I start my college semesters.

    *grins* I like your list. The Hawking book was pretty fascinating to read and so was the Rediscovering Paul book.

    I enjoyed both of them.

  2. Bethany,

    It’s good to hear that I’m not alone. I do wish that I was able to read faster; but alas, my inability to do so is my shortfall. I guess I better learn how to speed things up a bit if I’m going into PhD studies. 🙂

Leave a Reply

