A bit of a back-story

In late 2004, I made the tough decision to move back to Cincinnati in order to begin graduate studies. (In 2003, I moved from Cold Spring, Kentucky back to Atlanta after resigning from a Children’s Ministry position). The reason for the decision to return to schooling was because of an inner desire to teach on the college level–especially in the area of the apostle Paul. I knew that to be able to teach in such a capacity, I needed to do all that I could to prepare myself. So, January 2005 marked the beginning of what needed to be done.

On 23-Feb-06, I contacted Dr. Andrew T. Lincoln, the Portland professor of New Testament at the University of Gloucestershire. The reason for the contact was to inquire about the possibility of doing PhD studies under his supervision. His response to me was more than enthusiastically positive. Since that time, Dr. Lincoln and I have remained in close contact and he has been an incredible source of encouragement. The encouragement has revealed itself in manifold ways, primarily in his patience with me as I was completing my Master’s degree.  

In July of 2007, my wife (I got married 05-Aug-06), her parents, and I flew to England so that I could formally meet with Dr. Lincoln and discuss future prospects. For the duration of the trip, we stayed in a small town called Stow-on-the-Wold with some friends of my wife’s parents. (These friends, Margaret and Roger, own a comfortable B&B called, Cross Keys Cottage). The first few days were spent touring the surrounding towns and villages within the Cotswolds district. This was my first trip to England, so we wanted to soak in all that we could. (Here is a link for the pictures taken during our trip).

The Friday before returning to the states was the day I was able to meet with Dr. Lincoln. We traveled about an hour from Stow-on-the-Wold to Cheltenham in order to meet with him at the University. Cheltenham is a quaint, small, yet dense city nestled in a pocket of surrounding hills. About half way there, we encountered some light rain, which naturally slowed down traffic. (Little did we know what this initial encounter would bring).

We arrived at the Francis Close Hall campus shortly after 11:00a and met with Dr. Lincoln in his office for about an hour. My wife and in-laws, who were in the room with us, patiently endured Dr. Lincoln and I “talking shop” and discussing PhD topic ideas. The entire conversation was relaxed and promising, and he appeared to be quite intrigued with my research interests. After discussing a few more details, we all broke for lunch. It was at this point that we realized that the rain was not just a brief summer shower (see, Day 6 in the photo album linked above).

We originally were planning on dining at an establishment that overlooked the city, but flooding had already started, which forced us to reconsider our options. Dr. Lincoln recommended a wonderful little place know as The Retreat. We dined, we chatted some more, and then we had to part ways for the day. Dr. Lincoln assured me, on the way back to campus, that my ideas were promising and that I should submit my proposal as soon as possible.  

By late September, I had worked out the details of my PhD proposal and sent it off to the University for approval. At the start of November, Dr. Lincoln informed me that the application had arrived and was set to be reviewed shortly thereafter. Close to the end of November, I received word from the University that they had accepted my application and proposal–I hit the floor with tears of gratitude. A week later, Dr. Lincoln informed me that my research topic was in line with something that he and Dr. Lloyd Pietersen (who will serve as my secondary advisor) are planning to work on beginning this Fall. This similarity opens the door for a possible research grant, which would off-set some of our cost. 

Since November, my wife and I have been all that we can raise money for tuition and living expenses. We have been blessed by several extremely generous people who have contributed to this endeavor. We are eternally grateful for all of you! 

One comment

Leave a Reply

