Loss of a Great Mind

I happened upon this story earlier this evening and was sad to hear the news that Alexander Solzhenitsyn had died.  He was one of the first great thinkers I read when I was starting to engage with cultural concerns and how to balance such concerns with a theological worldview.  I always knew that the connection between the two should be sustained; at the time, I just never knew how to do it–or better: how to begin doing it.  Solzhenitsyn’s depth of thought and clarity of exposition opened many intellectual doors for me in this regard, and I will be forever indebted to him.  His mind, his spirit, his life, and his person will be sorely missed.

Leave a Reply

