hardly any tears

Yahoo Movies has provided a list of 10 movies that are supposedly the ones ‘that make grown men cry.’  Naturally, being a dude and being one not often brought to tears (especially because of something fictitious) I was curious to know which movies they had in mind.  I was quite surprised to see what they said.  Here’s what they had to said along with what I have to say:

  1. Field of Dreams–a great movie, and admittedly the end is quite touching, but not really a tear-jerker
  2. Shawshank Redemption–an amazingly well-written movie, but still no tears
  3. Backdraft–even though I’ve never seen this one all the way through, I could understand why it would be on the list
  4. The Wrestler–never heard of it, and it doesn’t really sound all that interesting
  5. Transformers: The Movie–seriously? this one is on the list?
  6. Rocky–maybe Rocky 3, where ‘Mickey’ dies and there is a grown man crying; but the first Rocky: no tears here
  7. Terminator 2: Judgment Day–unless I have some sort of demented ‘daddy-complex’, then maybe; otherwise, no tears for me in this movie
  8. One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest–never seen it, but I’ve always wanted to
  9. Billy Elliot–I think I cried when I realised that I couldn’t get my money back after watching this
  10. Up–never heard of it

Now, by way of self disclosure and to show that I don’t have a heart made of lead, there have been a small handful of movies that have caused me to shed tears–and I’m speaking more about quasi-recent flicks and not ones from when I was a little tot.  The three that immediately come to mind are: Awakenings, Patch Adams (strangely enough), and October Sky.

Update: I forgot about one other movie that made me cry: My Life.  That was tough to watch.

One comment

Leave a Reply

