looking for some assistance*

I’ve been in conversation with people who are far more educated and knowledgeable than me about a particular reference in 1 Cor 2.4-5.  The discussion focused mostly on the possible meanings/interpretations of δυναμις (dunamis), specifically in the context of proclaiming the gospel.  One of the questions that arose from this conversation was: ‘how have Charismatic and Pentecostal writers dealt with this term in 1 Cor 2.4-5?’  This question came about simply because my treatment of δυναμις in 1 Cor 2.4-5 failed to account for such perspectives.

Upon further reflection and a cursory search of various databases, I’ve found that the failure is not so much a deliberate oversight.  Instead, it is simply the case that very little (to my knowledge) exists from the Charismatic-Pentecostal perspective on this passage/issue.  As far as I can tell, Gordon Fee and Craig Keener are the only ones who speak on 1 Corinthians from such a perspective.  (However, I should say that Keener’s treatment, as it relates to my specific concern, is not suitable or usable.  His focus more with the rhetorical force and effect of Paul’s argument).

This brings me to my need for some assistance.  Does anyone know of any good resources for me to consult that would be helpful for understanding 1 Cor 2.4-5 from the Charismatic-Pentecostal perspective?

______________________________________
* Many deep thanks to Nick Norelli for getting my request out as well.

2 comments

  1. It might be worth consulting some Charismatic-Pentecostal study Bibles like The Life in the Spirit Study Bible or The Spirit Filled Life Study Bible (neither of which I have unfortunately). I’m sure your advisers are looking for something a little more scholarly, but that might help orientate you to the general Charismatic-Pentecostal understanding of the passage. I’ll keep searching and let you know if I come up with anything.

Leave a Reply

