why me?

Lately, for one unknown reason or another, a handful of people have stubbed their toes on my tiny blog while searching for something else. That something else is the supposed return of Christ in 2019. (The specific search is: ‘second coming 2019’). A variation of this something else is related to the supposed seven years of tribulation, which has ties with theories about the so-called rapture. (The specific search in these cases is: ‘2012-2019 second coming’). I’m guessing that it’s related to this supposed seven-year period, but I could be wrong.

Curiosity got the better of me, so I googled the exact same search(es) just to see what would happen. Sure enough, with the ‘second coming 2019’ search I was hit with a number of websites touting prophecies about the supposed return of Christ in that year. These sites made me laugh. After the seventh page(!), the number of sites related to that search began to dwindle, as did my snickering. Interestingly, throughout these seven pages (and a few others, just for good measure), I failed to see my blog. So how people got to me from that search is a bit of an oddity.

When I googled, ‘2012-2019 second coming’ I got better results. Upon seeing this post in the results, I then remembered why the 2012-2019 date would send people my way. I honestly thought (and hoped) that either Mr Middleton’s comment was spam or simply a one-off; but alas, my hopeful thoughts were simply that. Apparently some people are concerned about knowing when Christ will return, specifically if it will occur between 2012 and 2019. If such people came here in search of confirmation for either the specific 2019 or the vague 2012-2019 return, then I will have to disappoint because I cannot and will not endorse either view (or any variation). Go here for a brief explanation why I cannot and will not.

The Bible does not give specific dates or clues or hidden codes for when Christ will return. That is simply not its purpose. Those searching for such things are unwittingly engaging in eisegesis–i.e. forcing ideas, beliefs, theologies onto (or, into) the text so that it says something other than what it does say–and they need to stop. Those who claim that the Bible does give details about such things are openly guilty of eisegesis and their interpretations are not to be given a second glance. Why? Because any interpretation that forces the Bible to support a personal agenda, experience, feeling, desire, fetish, or flighty theology is neither faithful nor respectful to what the biblical text actually says. And that goes for anything that is touted to be biblical or spiritual; it’s not limited to second-coming predictions.

Leave a Reply

