need some geeky mac assistance, please

Because I’m pretty thick when it comes to computer stuff, especially stuff related to internet connections, I need some help/insight/assistance for a recurring problem. I’ll start with the details and then explain my issue/problem.

We have a fairly standard internet service in the house: cable runs out of the wall into a slightly dated router, and whereas before we were confined to a single ethernet cable (albeit c. 50 feet long) we now connect via a wireless router . . . one that’s rigged to the original router. By me. Without gaffer tape (surprisingly). While the logic of the rigging made sense, I didn’t know if it would work once connected.  Lo and behold, it worked.  (I was rather chuffed with myself).  That was nearly 2 years ago.

Shortly thereafter (maybe a month or two), I opened my laptop as usual, kicked on Safari, loaded a page or two and began my usual evening surfing. However, while bouncing around from one page to another I suddenly received a message saying I was no longer connected to the internet. I looked to the top of the screen and saw that my signal strength was full, so I presumed that much was okay. I then decided to click on the ‘network diagnostic’ button in the middle of my grim announcement, and followed the onscreen prompts. To give you an idea, my situation looked something like this:

For the moment, ignore the date and time.

At this point in the process, I clicked ‘continue’, was asked a couple more questions and then be given the suggestion: try resetting the router and/or restarting its power supply (my paraphrase). Naturally I complied and  the suggestion worked. Problem sorted.

However, about a month or so later the same thing happened. Armed with my new knowledge of how to fix things, I did as before and was met with the same result. Good times. But then, about a month or so later . . . (you get the idea).

Now for my problem: whereas this issue would happen only occasionally, it has become more like a daily occurrence. In fact, the screenshot above was the first of three that happened on that particular day. It’s getting a tad annoying, to say the least (and there is certainly more that I would love to say).

Now for my plea for advice: can anyone tell me if the connection problem is either my fault (either because of something up in my laptop or my rigging job) or the internet provider’s? My instinct is the latter simply because of the status window (see above), which shows the problem being linked with ‘internet’ and ‘server’. But then again, my knowledge in this areas is laughable at best.

One comment

  1. The network settings are showing you are connected to your wireless router. I suspect that it is either a) a failed ethernet cable going from the wireless router to your cable modem or b) a bad cable going to the wall or c) your cable box (the one between the wall outlet and your wireless modem is failing. Try the ethernet cable first as that is the cheapest to replace. Please feel free to ask any follow on comments.

    Blessings,

    Ryan

Leave a Reply

